a weekend with a cold & parsley pesto

Last weekend, I finally succumbed to the cold that’s been going around my office (and most of New York City, frankly) and spent two days eating soup and living in my pajamas. I have to say, by the time Sunday night rolled around, I felt like I couldn’t drink another drop of soup. I had an excess of parsley as well as some arugula left over from Thanksgiving, and I wanted to make sure I put it to good use. So, I did a quick search for a recipe, and found this one. I had regular parsley, but I had a hunch it wouldn’t make much of a difference. And the idea of pasta just sounded so, so wonderful after four consecutive meals of soup.

I toasted some pine nuts, threw everything into the blender, and pulsed until I got this lovely consistency.IMG_20151206_185949317

I’ll admit, I usually let pesto get more fully blended and a bit less textured, but I had been fantasizing about a more chunky pesto, and this fit the bill perfectly. I’ve had enough to keep eating it all week, tossed in pasta with fresh tomatoes and fresh Parmesan grated on top. Curling up on the couch with my hot bowl of pasta may have been the most satisfying feeling I had all weekend.

Parsley and Arugula Pesto (adapated from Food in Jars)
Makes enough for about 7-8 servings of pasta

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups parsley
1/2 cup arugula
1/2 cup pine nuts, toasted (about five minutes in the toaster oven did the trick for me)
1/4 fresh grated parmesan (and more to top your pasta)
1/4 cup olive oil
2 garlic cloves
salt and pepper to taste (I tend to be liberal with my pepper and stingy with my salt, so this really depends on your taste)

Pasta (for one)
5-6 cherry tomatoes, halved and then quartered
Penne or farfalle, or any pasta that will hold the pesto nicely

Recipe
Place the parsley, arugula, pine nuts, parmesan and garlic into the blender, and run at a low speed. I don’t have a pulse option, so I just kept an eye on how things were moving along. I began streaming in the olive oil after about 30 seconds. I didn’t time it, but I don’t believe the pesto was in the blender for more than two or three minutes. Once it reaches the desired consistency, take it out and place it into a container. It’s been good in the fridge in a sealed container for about a week; if you can’t use it that quickly, I’d recommend freezing it for another time. Mix it into the pasta along with the tomatoes, sprinkle some parmesan over it, and sit down for a delicious meal.

 

One thought on “a weekend with a cold & parsley pesto

Leave a Reply

