broken eggs & blue heels

You know those days where you wake up and everything goes wrong? I had one last week. The big plan was to go see The Good Dinosaur (which I had been wanting to see for a month). We pulled up to the movie theater only to find out that the one show of the day (an 11 am showing) was sold out. Sold out! I didn’t think you needed to buy tickets in advance for a movie that had been in theaters for more than a month. My mistake.

The silver lining was that we were going home and I would get to make some brunch before heading out again. I got to work making my go-to brunch: poached eggs on avocado toast.

I’ve made this recipe at least 50 times in the last year; it’s my favorite thing to eat on the weekend, and at this point, I feel like I’ve mastered the art of getting my egg poached just the way I like it (solid whites, runny yolk). On this day, I had just finished toasting my bread and layering my avocado, and both my eggs were done and waiting to be deposited onto their avocado toasts. I picked up the plate with the eggs to bring it over to the toaster. At about the moment that I put it down, I realized the space in front of the toaster was, in fact, not big enough to hold the plate. I caughPoached Eggs on Avocado Toast with Parmesant it on the way down, but sadly, one egg crashed to the floor and gloriously exploded. The other I managed to catch in my fist, but, well – poached eggs with runny yolks are not designed to be caught in your fist. Perfect brunch, ruined.

The silver lining was that the water from the eggs hadn’t cooled much and I still had it on the stove. I reheated the water and thankfully, managed to make two more eggs and successfully feed myself a delicious brunch.

From then on, my day turned around. We found tickets to see The Good Dinosaur in the evening at another theater, AND I found these gorgeous shoes 60% off at the Nine West outlet. It’s hard to do the beautiful blue color justice in the photos, but I promise, it’s stunning. All in all, a pretty good day by the end. Oh, and the movie? Really cute.
IMG_20160104_233350667

As I mentioned, this recipe is a favorite of mine. It’s easy to add little bits to dress it up (I’ve included a few suggestions below), but it’s also just great as is, and a pretty satisfying way to start the day.

Bonus points: An easy way to impress friends at brunch!

Poached Eggs on Avocado Toast

Hearty brunch for 1 or a lighter breakfast for 2

Ingredients
2 eggs
1/2 – 1 avocado
2 slices of bread (I’m partial to sourdough)
Salt, pepper, and paprika
Vinegar
Optional
Parmesan cheese
Arugula

Any herbs

Recipe
Poach your eggs. This guide from smitten kitchen is how I learned. I like leaving mine in the water for 3-4 minutes; this usually achieves the perfect ratio of solid white and runny yolk. It’s something you’ll also get a feel for the longer you do it. Prep a plate with a paper towel to place each egg on as they finish cooking. After putting the second egg into the water, put your bread in to toast. It should (ideally) be ready at the same time as the second egg. Spread avocado on both pieces of bread, and sprinkle with salt, pepper and paprika. If you want to add anything else (arugula, parmesan, herbs), I would suggest doing that now. Delicately place each poached egg on top of each slice, sprinkle with a bit more pepper and paprika, and settle in to enjoy!

Leave a Reply

