productive procrastination

I’m not sure if productive procrastination is a real thing, or something I just made up. But it’s the most accurate way to describe the last week. 

This whole week was supposed to be different. I knew I was leaving for two weeks of vacation (!!) at the end of it, so I had to get lots of things done. At the top of my list: finishing two big work projects and packing for my trip. Less important things included emptying out the fridge, cleaning up the apartment, attempting to study, and posting here.

Clearly, some things just went by the wayside (i.e. posting here). Last Friday after work, I had every intention of going home and going straight to bed. I was exhausted; all week I had been out after work, and I had managed to squeeze in two morning workouts, which meant I had been getting up early on top of coming home late. However, my friend called and asked if I wanted to grab a drink. This turned into three drinks and me coming home tipsy around 9 PM. I finally went to bed. The next morning, I woke up and met another friend for a workout and lunch. Lunch, which was delicious (check out Antico Noè when you have a chance), included picking up panini and a completely unnecessary but delicious bottle of Cassis champagne. After my friend left, I proceeded to take a four hour nap. This is a lesson I never seem to learn; day drinking leads to a day of waste (at least for me). Saturday was a bust.

This left Sunday for me to be über productive – basically, make up the whole weekend’s worth of work in a day. I woke up early and went for a yoga class, which was right by Whole Foods. On my way home, I decided to pick up a few things to supplement my ’emptying the fridge’ cooking this week. And then I spotted the most gorgeous blueberries. I was surprised – March seemed a little early for beautiful berries, but they just looked so fresh, and before I knew it they were in my basket.

That afternoon, instead of packing or working, I made amazing blueberry muffins. My sister had gifted me a homemade baking kit for muffins as a birthday gift almost two years ago, and I decided I would use the blueberry vanilla muffin recipe she had provided. These taste pretty great for about three days after you bake them, but the burst of flavor you get eating them right out of the oven is incomparable (and I had three that way). Productive procrastination at its best – I finally used some of the ingredients waiting in my pantry and made breakfast for the week, but didn’t get any of my key projects done.

I did eventually get everything done during the week, and I am now in the midst of traveling. For those other productive procrastinators out there, my only tip is this – make sure the cooking you procrastinate with is delicious. It makes it SO much more satisfying 🙂

Blueberry Vanilla Mini-Muffins (adapted from Damn Delicious)
Makes about 40 mini-muffins with enough batter left to lick the bowl

Ingredients
2 cups all purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups buttermilk (mix together 1 1/2 cups of 2% milk and about 2 1/2 teaspoons cream of tartar and let stand for ten minutes as a substitute)
2/3 cup sugar
1/4 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla bean paste
1 overfull cup of beautiful blueberries
2 tablespoons sparkling sugar (optional)

Recipe
Preheat the over to 350 degrees. Line your baking trays with cupcake liners or nonstick spray. In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt. Mix together. In another bowl, combine the egg, butter, sugar, and buttermilk (or substitute). Stir in the vanilla bean paste. Once combined, pour over the dry ingredients. If your butter is still chunky, grab an egg beater and beat on low until everything is well mixed. Fold in the blueberries. Start scooping batter into each of the liners, filling each cup a little more than 2/3 of the way. (If you went the route of sparkling sugar, the original recipe calls for sprinkling it on top of each of the muffins here before placing them in the oven). Bake for about 15 minutes (keep an eye on them!) until a toothpick comes out clean from a cupcake. Warning: these gorgeous muffins don’t really brown, so once they have risen, you’re getting close to finished. Once done, take them out of the oven and let them cool on a rack. I highly recommend eating a few at this point – the bursting blueberries have an incredible tangy flavor and the muffin just melts in your mouth. If you’re not serving them right away, store them in an airtight container once cool. They’ll stay good for at least three days at room temperature.

Leave a Reply

