Cookie Monster wisdom

If you know me, you may know that I believe that the Cookie Monster is a wise, wise muppet. I was reminded of this recently when I saw him in an ad for Siri (shame on you, Apple, for co-opting such a smart monster to promote your products!) baking cookies. In case you haven’t seen the ad, here’s a link. It is admittedly very cute (damn you, TBWA/Media Art Labs, for tugging at my heartstrings).

So, I thought I’d share a few of his philosophies that are key.

On friendship:

“Sometimes me thinks, ‘What is a friend’? And then me say, ‘Friend is someone to share the last cookie with’.”

If a friendship you have can’t pass this test, you may not have the relationship you thought you did. Let’s be real for a minute here – if I don’t want to share my last cookie with you (or my last french fry, or whatever it may be), are we really friends? Do I care about you? The willingness to cross the cookie sharing line is a great way to define friend vs. acquaintance.

On life:

“Today I will live in the moment unless it’s unpleasant in which case I will eat a cookie.”

There’s a few important things to remember here. Firstly (and if you haven’t heard this before, you have clearly never clicked on any article that tells you how to better your life in x number of ways in x number of minutes), you should live in the moment. Because you don’t know what might happen tomorrow, because it’s important to savor each moment, because each moment is a gift – blah blah blah. I do believe in taking that with a grain of salt, because, well – if I was living each moment like it was my last, I probably wouldn’t have a job or any sort of stable income and eventually (probably a lot faster than eventually) that would become a pretty serious problem. But generally speaking, do things you enjoy! Be excited about life!

Secondly – eat a cookie if it’s not working out. Cookies (or whatever your happy place of food is) generally make everything seem a little brighter. Last minute change of plans? Have a cookie. Your friend decided to bring along that friend of hers you really aren’t the biggest fan of? Pack some cookies. Perhaps not great examples, but I think what he’s going for here is – if the whole ‘living in the moment’ thing isn’t working out, do something to make it better. Which is some pretty solid advice. It’s easy to just say, ‘Okay, today just didn’t work out, let’s try again tomorrow’. It’s harder to try and salvage the day. But take strength from your cookie – I believe in you!

On that note, I’ll leave you to your weekends. Live by this Cookie Monster wisdom and see how it goes! Also, here are some great outtakes from the commercial. I can confidently say that you will find the moment you spend watching this video very pleasant.

Leave a Reply

